Wednesday, August 23, 2006

Terror Continues In Oaxaca

Tuesday morning in Oaxaca, an armed police caravan shot at protesters, killing one teacher.
Dressed in all black & wearing ski masks, city & state police thugs traveled through the city early Tuesday morning in a caravan of pick-up trucks & motorcycles. The 34 vehicle convoy joined up at around 12:20 am, & opened fire on the recently taken radio La Ley 710. A teacher, Lorenzo San Pablo Cervantes, recieved bullet wounds to the back & was taken to the hospital, but later died.
State Governer Ulises Ruiz described the operation as a "cleaning of the roads", & never mentioned the teacher that was killed.
Police intercepted a vehicle with 2 members of the magisterial police inside, doused it with gasoline, & set it on fire. The 2 occupants escaped with 1st degree burns.
The people of Oaxaca were alerted by radio of the aggressions taking place in the city. Hundreds of people took to the streets, willing to offer back-up to fight or detain the aggressors.
Radio stations that have been occupied by members of APPO, Popular Assembly of the People of Oaxaca, called for the citizens of Oaxaca not to sleep & join their comrades at the barricades & encampments.
On 2 seperate occassions, police vehicles were surrounded by the townspeople & forced to flee, shooting at the townspeople while they ran.
7 vehicles, 2 of them buses, were burned by unknown people. There are currently 500 barricades in the city that protect the encampments of the teachers & APPO, which were reinforced with more security.
The week began on Monday with armed attacks on the antenna of Channel 9, which had been taken over by women from APPO at the beginning of August, as reported here. As the antenna was damaged useless, protesters from APPO took over 12 radio stations in the city.

Please contact the people who are responsible for this bullshit & let them know that the whole world is watching!

1.) Gov. of Oaxaca, Ulises Ruiz--Gobernador del Estado de Oaxaca:

2.) Jorge Franco Vargas--Secretario de Gobierno del Estado de Oaxaca: &

3.) President Vicente